Being Online: A First Timer’s Perspective

 

I’m so excited to start my first online course experience. I haven’t been in school for over ten years, so this is definitely going to be an interesting experience. I welcome the new challenges I face, I also look forward to actually accomplishing my goal of receiving my Teaching the Adult Learner Certificate one day. Slow but steady, one day at a time, and I will get there.

I am grateful for the encouragement of family and fellow peers. Without them, none of this would be possible. I see every day that the possibilities of “what I want to become when I grow up” are endless!

I logged in my course for the first time, changed my password. At first, I found all the reading material very overwhelming. I surfed slowly through the whole course outline, and really seemed to get a hang of how to change my profile and update my personal information quickly.  I also noticed that they have a Group Assignment, which has me a little uneasy. I’m not sure how this type of assignment will work within an online course environment. I will continue to ask for help, and follow-up on what the instructor for this course is asking.

Wish me luck!

Cristina 🙂

Cristina Lord is a Continuing Education Student taking courses within the Teaching the Adult Learner Certificate at Mohawk College. She works part-time as the MCACES Resource Centre Receptionist and is married with two young children. Would you like to speak with Cristina? Contact her through mcaces@mohawkcollege.ca.

Cristina Lord works part-time as the MCACES Resource Centre Receptionist

Leave a Reply

