Etiquette in the Workplace Part 3

How NOT to leave a Phone message for your Professor…..   

“please call me back”

There are many ways of reaching your Professor (or other Professional), and with the increased use of cell phones, voice mail messaging is still a vital part of communication in the workplace. 

When leaving a voice mail message, you will need to speak clearly and slowly to have a better chance of being understood.  

Be precise and leave a message that indicates why you want your Professor’s help.  It is imperative to leave your name, your student number, your problem (or reason for the phone call) and how you can be contacted. 

None of this information is important unless you speak CLEARLY and   S  L  O  W  L  Y.  (need to repeat that – cannot be emphasized enough!)

Humour is fine in a voice mail message if it is appropriate, but be sure that your voice messaging is professional.  You do not want to be embarrassed by your Professor hearing it, or give him/her the impression that you are not someone to be taken seriously.   

 

Here is a better sample of a voice message:

 

Hi Julie,


This is Meaghan MacDonald.   My student number is ZERO, ZERO, ZERO, ONE, TWO, THREE, FOUR, FIVE, SIX and I am going to be away from school on Friday due to an important appointment.  I understand that I am not missing any tests, but could you please tell me how I can get a copy of the assignment that you were going to hand out in class?

Please feel free to e-mail me at my MoCoMotion or e-learn account, or call me on my cell phone at NINE, ZERO, FIVE, FOUR, ONE, SIX, SEVEN, SEVEN, EIGHT, NINE.

I hope to hear from you soon.

 Bye.

 

Act like a professional and you may begin to feel like a professional.  This may give you the confidence you need to succeed.

 One thing is true, that being treated as a professional will only be attained by acting like one.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

